Gin in non-alcoholic, how does that work?
We like to divide the wide range of alcohol-free gin into two categories, which differ fundamentally in their production. Either a high-quality gin as we know it serves as the starting product, from which the alcohol is gently extracted in a separate step, or the drink never contained alcohol to begin with and is instead composed of a wide variety of ingredients. Both approaches often make use of the versatile process of vacuum distillation, which is equally suitable for the dealcoholization of spirits and the extraction of aromas from water-based solutions.
Alcohol-free gin vs. alcohol-free alternative to gin
In our linguistic usage, the term alcohol-free gin has quickly established, because everyone knows what is meant or what is being looked for right away. However, this designation is not entirely unproblematic, because gin is a protected term and by definition must contain at least 37.5% alcohol. By the way, the same applies to spirits in general. Manufacturers and retailers are therefore on the safe side using terms such as alcohol-free alternative to gin or alcohol-free gin alternative, but of course everyone who is looking for an alcohol-free gin will find what they are looking for at The Mindful Drinking Club!
Alcohol-free gin during pregnancy
Alcohol in general, and therefore of course also gin with a minimum alcohol content of 37.5 percent by volume, are a no-go during pregnancy. But what about alcohol-free gin? Not a problem, generally speaking! Our portfolio features a selection of non-alcoholic alternatives to gin. Depending on your personal convictions and the stage of your pregnancy, there are still one or two things to consider. By current law, any beverage that is called alcohol-free can still contain up to 0.5% alcohol, so it can contain very small amounts of alcohol. For comparison, a very ripe banana can contain up to 0.6%. We have therefore clearly labeled each product, so each woman can decide for herself individually. Some women also avoid preservatives during pregnancy, such as potassium sorbate (E202), which is also used in beverage production. If you are unsure about this, it is best to discuss the issue with your doctor. We are of course happy to provide information about additives that are subject to declaration. The most popular drink is and remains the Gin & Tonic, and of course its non-alcoholic version is great, too. However, tonic usually contains quinine, which is not recommended for excessive consumption during pregnancy. As a precautionary measure, many pregnant women therefore do without the flavoring agent altogether. For us, the same applies here: Products containing quinine are labeled as such.